Various Pictures

May 17, 2007

I decided, for the sake of time and effort to just make a couple of posts with pictures instead of inserting pics into each post….

Oriana (my host mom in Sao Luis) and the flower I gave her for mother~s day.  I picked it from her garden while she had her back turned.

This was the very, very, very large man that Lynn had to sit by on the plane… the pic does not do justice.

This is the group of Rotary youth exchange students from around the world (and us).  From left to right in the back: Alaska, germany, mexico, michigan, philadelphia

Teresina, Piaui from the balcony of Peter~s (my host) ex wife.  We stopped by around 11:50pm for his daughters b-day. 

Peter~s son Pedro (the enduro motorcycle champion) and his daughter Nicole… it was her birthday.

The mother~s day feast at my host family~s home… with Brad and Kelly as guests.

My host Peter (Teresina) and his girlfriend Polly.  He owns a construction company and also races motorcycles… perfect match.

The Sao Luis equivalent of SWAT… the had just performed a hostage situation demonstration for us.

The guys are a tough crew… they typically patrol the city in this fashion… they cover the entire state of maranhao… and parts of the amazon.

Fred and I had just finished our game of soccer in the back yard… I had to remind him that I could still smoke him in basketball.

We toured a blue jean factory in Teresina… I had no idea the work that went into each pair to make them look worn… this is just a pic of the stonewash.

A view of Sao Luis from the return ferry from Alacantra.

The statue in the historic city that I know nothing about… refer to the blog.

We found a pizza joint in Fortaleza during our 6 hour layover on our way to Teresina.  Apparently you are expected to wear gloves while eating.

Following pizza we found an ice cream shop.. where ironically you did not have to wear gloves… and I ended getting it all over me.

Our welcoming party as we arrived in Floriano… they were great… except the tv/radio/newspaper reporter with the whistle.

Fred and Patricia at the beach the day after we arrived.

Swimming in the river near the farm

Leave a comment